Skip to main content

"Shining a Light": 21st Century Scores Online Exhibit

Now through May 14, 2021

Shining a Light” is a new online exhibit available through UMKC Libraries. The website highlights 21st century scores to lift up primarily living composers from historically underrepresented groups. In the collection you can find pieces by composers such as Anthony Braxton, Valerie Coleman, Augusta Read Thomas, and Xi Wang. We hope these scores and composers will find their way into your music-making and research. The “Shining a Light” collection was partially made possible via an Inclusive Excellence grant through a University of Missouri System initiative to encourage greater research opportunities for projects that focus on diversity, inclusivity, and underrepresented groups. It is our intention that this resource continues to grow as the library acquires more works by underrepresented composers, shining a light on those who bring diverse perspectives and ideas to the Western art music community.

Use this site to:

  • search for repertoire
  • explore composers’ profiles
  • access composer websites
  • listen to recordings 

Use our free SoundCloud playlist "Shining a Light" to listen to works from some of the composers new to our collection and others selected to showcase the compositional range and brilliance of these artists.

Screen shot of "Shining A Light" homepage

Posted: February 11, 2020