Equity Committee

The University Libraries’ Equity Committee was formed in 2018 as the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee. In 2020, the committee decided together to change its name to better support its focus. Diversity and Inclusion are core to Equity, which is action based and the outcome to which we aspire.

Since its formation, the Equity Committee has become a highly influential group in the Libraries, providing education and taking action on a number of critical issues. Their charge is to advance the Libraries’ Values and support the UMKC Statement of Values, in fulfillment of Libraries’ strategic goals. To successfully demonstrate transparency, accountability, and inclusive practice, the Committee approaches its work in a collaborative, intersectional, and holistic manner.

The impact of the Equity Committee is clear in the ongoing transformation of the Libraries’ culture and practices, through both individual projects and ongoing initiatives.

Cindy Thompson
Dean of Libraries

UMKC University Libraries' Equity Committee Roster

Group of people standing on stairs
University Libraries Equity Committee, 2021-2022.

Committee Co-Chairs

Anthony LaBat
Special Collections Operations and Processing Associate

Mēgan Oliver
Head of Digital Projects

Committee Members

Bryanna Beasley
Library Information Specialist

Brenda Linares
Associate Dean of Library Services

Sandy Rodriguez
Associate Dean of Special Collections & Archives

Lindy Smith
Head of LaBudde Special Collections

Committee Advisor

Tracey Hughes
Teaching & Learning; Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Committee Sponsor

Cindy Thompson
Dean of Libraries

We use cookies to improve our services. By using this site, you consent to cookies.


Case dimensions: 5’ long x 30” wide x 9” high sitting atop 3’ legs

Glass exhibit table


The First Floor Gallery is located just inside the main entrance of the Miller Nichols Library.

Wall with exhibit content