Skip to main content

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

Message from the Interim Dean of Libraries

The University Libraries’ Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee was formed in 2018 by Dean Emerita Bonnie Postlethwaite. Since then, the DEI Committee has become a highly influential group in the Libraries, providing education and taking action on a number of critical issues. Their charge is to advance the Libraries' Value for “Respecting Each Other” and support the UMKC Statement of Values, in fulfillment of Libraries' strategic goals under Pillar 4: Foster an environment of invigorating multiculturalism, globalism and inclusion.

To successfully demonstrate transparency, accountability, and inclusive practice, the Committee approaches its work in a collaborative, intersectional, and holistic manner.

The impact of the DEI Committee is clear in the ongoing transformation of the Libraries’ culture and practices, through both individual projects and ongoing initiatives. The DEI Committee:

  • Developed a Call to Action in Support of Racial Justice, as well as specific ways individuals can support racial justice.
  • Established structures to support UMKC Libraries’ workers facing acute financial hardship due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Recommended a process for reviewing names of university facilities and other named entities to UMKC Administration, drafting a document which was foundational in establishing the Roos Advocate for Community Change initiative’s Building and Scholarship Naming Review Task Force.
  • Created the Lean In Together initiative where library employees can anonymously submit their personal experiences in the workplace that are instances of discrimination, microagression, systemic oppression, etc.; a system which is being replicated on the campus level.
  • Initiated the Ethical Descriptions Project to examine the state of descriptions in current catalog records and metadata of digital collections.

Additionally, on an ongoing basis they are responsible for:

  • Creating the Everyday DEI blog where all library employees can share their reflections on daily decisions, processes, and structures in their work that they have changed in support of equity and inclusion.
  • Organizing education, training, and discussions for Libraries’ employees on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Reviewing library policies and procedures for necessary updates to support diversity, equity and inclusion.
  • Assisting the Dean with annual review and update of the Libraries' Inclusive Excellence Plan.
  • Tracking the Libraries' initiatives, projects, programming, collections, and day-to-day interactions that reflect our commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion.

The principles of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion must be incorporated into all aspects of our work so that we can support anti-racism and challenge structures of white supremacy, and the DEI Committee has been foundational in building a culture where this can occur. The committee works closely with and has the full support of the University Libraries’ Administration in carrying out their work.

Cindy Thompson
Interim Dean of Libraries

UMKC DEI Committee Roster

2020 DEI Committee Members University Libraries DEI Committee, 2019-2020.

Committee Sponsor

Cindy Thompson Cindy Thompson, Interim Dean of Libraries

Committee Co-Chairs

Sandy Rodriguez Sandy Rodriguez, Associate Dean of Special Collections & Archives

Anthony LaBat Anthony LaBat, LaBudde Special Collections

Committee Members

Scott Curtis Scott Curtis, Scholarly Communications

Tracey Hughes Tracey Hughes, Teaching & Learning

Fu Zhuo Fu Zhuo, Teaching & Learning

Gail Williams Gail Williams, Interlibrary Loan

Lindy Smith Lindy Smith, Head of LaBudde Special Collections

Gloria Tibbs Gloria Tibbs, Organizational Development Coordinator

Campus & System Resource List

About Us
Our Office

Employee Resource Groups
Division of Diversity and Inclusion

Affinity Groups (Employee Resource Groups)

Ally is Not a Noun
Division of Diversity and Inclusion

Chancellor's Award for Embracing Diversity (PDF)

Chancellor's Diversity Council
Council Roster

Office of Diversity & Inclusion
UMKC School of Medicine

Diversity Advocates
Division of Diversity and Inclusion

Diversity,Equity, and Inclusive Reading list

International Student Affairs Office

Diversity Task Force
School of Dentistry

Events & Programs
Diversity Calendar

MOSAIC Newsletter
Division of Diversity and Inclusion

UMKC Title IX Office

UMKC DEI Asset Inventory (PDF)