Skip over navigation
Text version
About UMKCAcademicsAdmissionsAthleticsOffices and DepartmentsLibrariesResearch
UMKC Logo Search Quick Links
The Libraries
UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

Databases By Title Databases By Subject Database Information and Guides Serials Solutions

WorldCat.org

WorldCat.org (OCLC) Current edition.    delicious logo Save to del.icio.us
Access for UMKC students, faculty and staff. All others should use this link.

A quick, easy way to search over 60,000 libraries worldwide, including the Library of Congress. Search on campus or via the link above to get complete information about which libraries have the materials you find.  Use the subscription version – WorldCat (FirstSearch) – for more comprehensive searching and to find obscure materials.

There are two versions of WorldCat.  Which version of WorldCat is best to use?

Quick Comparison of the Two:

Questions

WorldCat.org
(Free website)

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
(UMKC Subscription)

What is covered?

Search over 60,000 libraries worldwide in over 112 countries,
including the Library of Congress.

Search over 60,000 libraries worldwide in over 112 countries,
including the Library of Congress.

Can I See Who Owns the Items
I find?

If you access WorldCat.org using campus computers or the library provided link, full ownership for all 60,000 libraries will display.

Yes—ownership (holdings) for all 60,000 libraries will display.

 

If you access WorldCat as just a website only about 10,000 libraries will show their ownership (holdings).

Libraries must subscribe to the WorldCat (FirstSearch) Database to have their ownership records visible on WorldCat.org.

 

You can enter a zip code to see nearby libraries that own item.

 

What Kind of Searching Can I Do?

Basic Search - search by title, subject or person.  Easy to refine your search results by clicking on breakdown panel to the left. Advanced - search by keyword, title, author, subject, or special numbers like ISSN and ISBN.

More comprehensive searching available: Search by more than 30 special indexes. Full display of results shows detailed record fields—audience, genre, notes, etc.

 

Limit results by: content, audience, language (30 different languages), format, or publication date.

Limit results by: language (470+ languages), year, format, audience, content type (fiction, biography, etc.)

Special Features?

Can export search results to EndNote or RefWorks.

Cite This Iitem:  Can display item showing 5 different citing methods, including APA & MLA.

Can export search results to EndNote or RefWorks.

 

4 Databases are included in WorldCat.org:
ERIC (630+ education journals; 1966-present)
Medline (5,000+ biomedical journals; 1965-present)
ArticleFirst (16,000 journals, all topics; 1990-present)
GPO (500,000+ government documents; 1976-present)

Article citations from contributing libraries will be included.  The 4 databases to the left are available for individual searching on the Databases: Articles and More page.

 

Change the interface display to 5 different languages:
English, German, French, Spanish or Dutch.

Interface displays can be changed to all 5 languages on left plus Arabic, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese.

 

Write a review for an item or see reviews written by others.

Share an item you like with your friends on Facebook, del.icio.us or other networks.

 

Can I check out the items I find?

If you searched WorldCat.org on campus computers or with the library-provided link, special links will display to help you get the materials. 
Call the reference desk if you have any questions: 816.235.1534.

WorldCat will tell you if an item is owned by UMKC - click the "Search the catalog at your library" link to check availability at UMKC libraries, then search in MERLIN and MOBIUS (nearly 70 libraries in Missouri) to get your books faster.  Most other items can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan - nationwide or worldwide.




The University of Missouri-Kansas City Libraries
5100 Rockhill Road
Kansas City, Missouri 64110
Miller Nichols: (816) 235-1534
Dental: (816) 235-2030
Health Sciences: (816) 235-1880
Leon E. Bloch Law: (816) 235-1650

http://library.umkc.edu/
Contact webmaster
© 1996-2008 UMKC University Libraries. All Rights Reserved.
Page updated February 22, 2008

UMKC Libraries UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

UMKC is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution; Part of the University of Missouri System; Reporting Possible Copyright Infringement