Skip over navigation
Text version
About UMKCAcademicsAdmissionsAthleticsOffices and DepartmentsLibrariesResearch
UMKC Logo Search Quick Links
The Libraries
UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

Databases By Title Databases By Subject Database Information and Guides Serials Solutions

Oxford Art Online

Access: Connect to database
Access is restricted to UMKC students, faculty, and staff.
Connecting to databases off-campus
Description: Provides global coverage of all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the present. Includes access to four art reference resources:
  • Grove Art Online: a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. More info.
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art: coverage of over 1,700 artists and their work. More info.
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms: 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts. More info.
  • The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics: a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts. More info.

[Source: About Oxford Art Online; accessed June 5, 2008]

Coverage: Current edition.
  Use the Find it at UMKC  button to search for full text of articles listed in the bibliographies which appear in many of the database entries. More info.
Features: Limit searches to images or biograpies, Truncation *
Maximum Users: 3
Vendor/Provider: Oxford University Press / UMKC subscription
Description Updated: June 5, 2008 - LJF


The University of Missouri-Kansas City Libraries
5100 Rockhill Road
Kansas City, Missouri 64110
Miller Nichols: (816) 235-1534
Dental: (816) 235-2030
Health Sciences: (816) 235-1880
Leon E. Bloch Law: (816) 235-1650

http://library.umkc.edu/
Contact webmaster
© 1996-2008 UMKC University Libraries. All Rights Reserved.
Page updated June 5, 2008

UMKC Libraries UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

UMKC is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution; Part of the University of Missouri System; Reporting Possible Copyright Infringement