Skip over navigation
Text version
About UMKCAcademicsAdmissionsAthleticsOffices and DepartmentsLibrariesResearch
UMKC Logo Search Quick Links
The Libraries
UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

Databases By Title Databases By Subject Database Information and Guides Serials Solutions

New York Times Article Archive


New York Times Article Archive September 18, 1851 - present.    delicious logo Save to del.icio.us

Indexes articles of The New York Times from its beginning (as the New-York Daily Times) in September 18, 1851 through December 31, 1995. The New York Times is available on microfilm from 1857 - present in the Miller Nichols Library Microforms collection. LexisNexis Academic, available through the University Libraries’ web site, has the full text of New York Times articles from June 1, 1980 to the present. The New York Times Article Archive also provides the text of entire articles for a fee. For articles published through December 31, 1995, the pdf files include accompanying photos, charts, and graphs.

Index entries include the first paragraph of the article, as well as the date and page number where the article appeared.

The index is divided into two parts by date. Each part must be searched separately.

Articles appearing from 1996 to the present are indexed in the Article Archive: 1996-Present. Articles are available in text format, without photos, charts or other graphics. According to the website, photos published during this period may be purchased from the New York Times photo sales department.

Articles appearing between 1851 and 1995 are indexed separately. These articles are available in pdf format, and include accompanying photos and other graphics. Advertising is included, although the company does not promise that all ads have been indexed. "The New York Times Article Archive: 1851-1995 is hosted by ProQuest through their ProQuest Archiver service and all purchases are processed by ProQuest." [from the database website]






The University of Missouri-Kansas City Libraries
5100 Rockhill Road
Kansas City, Missouri 64110
Miller Nichols: (816) 235-1534
Dental: (816) 235-2030
Health Sciences: (816) 235-1880
Leon E. Bloch Law: (816) 235-1650

http://library.umkc.edu/
Contact webmaster
© 1996-2008 UMKC University Libraries. All Rights Reserved.
Page updated February 9, 2005



UMKC Libraries UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

UMKC is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution; Part of the University of Missouri System; Reporting Possible Copyright Infringement