| Find | How Do I...? | Requests & Services | About | News + Events |
The netLibrary collection of electronic books (eBooks) available through the UMKC University Libraries includes over 9,000 titles in a wide range of subject areas. eBooks are electronic editions of printed books, and contain the same text as their printed counterparts.
The collection contains classic works which are in the public domain (not protected under copyright) and recent works from such academic publishers as AMACOM, Blackwell, Chelsea House, McGraw Hill, Oxford University Press, University of California, and Wiley. Titles from popular presses like Barrons, Career Press, Cliffs Notes, Que and Sams also are included. Public domain titles are drawn from digitization projects such as Project Gutenberg, the University of Virginia Library, and BiblioBytes.
The collection emphasizes topics such as computers and related technology, literature, and careers. Series or collections available include "Library of America," "Complete Idiot's Guide," "Schaum's Outline Series," "Hunter Travel Guides," "Sams Teach Yourself in 21 days," and "VGM Opportunities Series." The collection also includes reference books.
Please note that only one person may view a given eBook at a time. If you see a message that reads "We're sorry, your library's copies of this eContent are currently in use," this means that someone else from UMKC is viewing it. Please try again later. When you have finished reading a book, please click on the "Close item" link in the upper left part of the screen. This will free up the item so that someone else can view it.
You can perform a Basic Search from the netLibrary homepage as well as any non-search page. You can search by:
The Advanced Search option allows you to search by:
These eBooks also are listed in the MERLIN Library Catalog. Use the term "netLibrary" in a keyword search to find all available titles. To find a specific eBook do a keyword search combining "netLibrary" with an author, title or subject, e.g., netlibrary and sams.
You can use netLibrary in two different ways.
![]() |
© 2008 UMKC University Libraries. All Rights Reserved. Part of the University of Missouri System; DMCA and other copyright information; 5100 Rockhill Road | Kansas City, Missouri 64110 Miller Nichols: (816)235-1534 Dental: 816)235-2030 Health Sciences: (816)235-1880 Leon E. Bloch Law:(816)235-1650 Page last updated: 09/10/08; Comments or Questions: Contact Us |