Skip over navigation
Text version
About UMKCAcademicsAdmissionsAthleticsOffices and DepartmentsLibrariesResearch
UMKC Logo Search Quick Links
The Libraries
UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

Databases By Title Databases By Subject Database Information and Guides Serials Solutions

NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service

NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service 1958 - present.    delicious logo Save to del.icio.us
Links to selected full text 1995 - present.

The National Criminial Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) collection covers the broad subject area of criminal justice and its related fields of study. The NCJRS indexes and abstracts federal, state and local government reports, as well as books, research reports, journal artices, and unpublished research. Most documents published since 1995 by the sponsoring agencies are available online. Search the Abstracts Database (www.ncjrs.gov/abstractdb/search.asp) for summaries of the more than 185,000 criminal justice publications housed in the NCJRS Library collection. Links to full text documents on the NCJRS website are included where available. The Publications/Products (www.ncjrs.gov/App/Publications/AlphaList.aspx) page links to full text documents available through the NCJRS, and includes a keyword search.

"Documents in the NCJRS Abstracts Database represent the entire field of law enforcement and criminal justice, except for most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. The collection has been developed to meet the needs of criminal justice professionals, researchers, policymakers, and technical and legal experts. Subject areas include corrections, courts, crime prevention, criminology, drugs, juveniles, law enforcement, statistics, technology, and victims. Agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research are unique parts of the collection. Many documents are from State and local government or international sources as well as from the book and journal literature. Documents must either be written in English or have an English-language summary." Source: Library/Abstracts Collection Statement, accessed July 6, 2006.

Sponsoring agencies include: the National Institute of Justice, the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, the Office for Victims of Crime, the Bureau of Justice Statistics, and the Bureau of Justice Assistance, all part of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy.



The University of Missouri-Kansas City Libraries
5100 Rockhill Road
Kansas City, Missouri 64110
Miller Nichols: (816) 235-1534
Dental: (816) 235-2030
Health Sciences: (816) 235-1880
Leon E. Bloch Law: (816) 235-1650

http://library.umkc.edu/
Contact webmaster
© 1996-2008 UMKC University Libraries. All Rights Reserved.
Page updated July 6, 2006

UMKC Libraries UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

UMKC is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution; Part of the University of Missouri System; Reporting Possible Copyright Infringement