Skip over navigation
Text version
About UMKCAcademicsAdmissionsAthleticsOffices and DepartmentsLibrariesResearch
UMKC Logo Search Quick Links
The Libraries
UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

Databases By Title Databases By Subject Database Information and Guides Serials Solutions

Marquis Who’s Who on the Web


Marquis Who’s Who on the Web Current edition    delicious logo Save to del.icio.us
Full text.

Marquis Who’s Who on the Web features biographical profiles of 1.2 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and much more. Updates to biographies are made daily, and new biographies are added daily.

Marquis Who’s Who on the Web provides access to current biographies of all individuals who appeared in any one of the following Marquis print titles since 1985:

Digitized biographies from Who Was Who in America volumes (1607-1985) form an online segment called Who’s Who in American History, representing 400 years of biographical history. Marquis Who’s Who on the Web includes 110,000 “life stories” from 1607 to the present. Biographies cover inventors, explorers, colonists, abolitionists, important figures in business, government, the military, education, literature and others who helped shape American history .

Marquis Who’s Who on the Web features biographical coverage including:

The primary selection criteria for Marquis Who's Who Publications are:

  1. Position of leadership held at significant organization
  2. Educational attainments
  3. Noteworthy achievement in creative works (writings, music, television, movies, etc.)
  4. Significant publishing or public speaking experience
  5. Contributions to the community.

For listees in Who's Who in America, these accomplishments tend to be national in scope. Marquis Who's Who biographees have the opportunity to update their biographies several times throughout the year. Research staff also regularly collects and updates biographical data.

[Source: About the Database, Marquis Who's Who on the Web, May 20, 2005]





The University of Missouri-Kansas City Libraries
5100 Rockhill Road
Kansas City, Missouri 64110
Miller Nichols: (816) 235-1534
Dental: (816) 235-2030
Health Sciences: (816) 235-1880
Leon E. Bloch Law: (816) 235-1650

http://library.umkc.edu/
Contact webmaster
© 1996-2008 UMKC University Libraries. All Rights Reserved.
Page updated May 20, 2005



UMKC Libraries UMKC MERLIN Catalog Site Map Search Site Contact Us Libraries Home

UMKC is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution; Part of the University of Missouri System; Reporting Possible Copyright Infringement