University Libraries Home
Find How Do I...? Requests & Services About News + Events

Databases By Title Databases By Subject Database Information and Guides Serials Solutions

APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources

Access: Connect to database
Access is restricted to UMKC students, faculty, and staff.
Connecting to databases off-campus
Description: Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, Websites--there's an explosion
of online resources that can be added to research papers.

If you're using the APA Citation Style (American Psychological Association)
here's their online guide of "how to cite" a wide variety of electronic resources in your research paper. 

This full-text online manual tells how to cite ONLY online electronic resources--if you need assistance with print sources or other areas of your paper, please use print copies of APA's 5th edition manual.

Electronic Resources coverage includes:

  • Websites
  • Journal Articles, with or without a DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
  • Electronic books (entire books or just chapters)
  • Dissertations and Theses
  • Abstracts
  • Bibliographies (from websites/courseware or book chapters)
  • Curriculum or course materials
  • Book Reviews and Journal Article Commentaries
  • Reference Materials (Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks)
  • Wikis
  • Raw Data
  • Computer Programs and Software
  • Gray Literature (unpublished literature)
  • Podcasts
  • Online Communities
  • Message Boards
  • Video, Weblogs, and other posts

Also, this APA website http://www.apastyle.org/styletips.html
has a quick online style guide with handy tips on these topics:

  • How to remove bias in your writing (disability, race, ethnic, and sexual references).
  • Handy spelling guide for common media terms (it's e-mail, not email)
  • When students collaborate with their professors in writing an article, how to determine authorship.
Coverage: 2007 edition.
Features:
Maximum Users: Unlimited.
Vendor/Provider: APA/UMKC purchase
Description Updated: March 14, 2008 -- SP

UMKC © 2008 UMKC University Libraries. All Rights Reserved. Part of the University of Missouri System; DMCA and other copyright information; 5100 Rockhill Road | Kansas City, Missouri 64110 Miller Nichols: (816)235-1534 Dental: 816)235-2030 Health Sciences: (816)235-1880 Leon E. Bloch Law:(816)235-1650 Page last updated: 09/10/08; Comments or Questions: Contact Us
April 16, 2008