Eighteenth Century Collections Online (InfoTrac/Gale) 1701-1800.
Save to del.icio.us
Full text 1701-1800.
A comprehensive collection of digitized English-language books published between 1701 and 1800. While the collection's focus is on materials published in the United Kingdom, important works from the Americas are also included. The nearly 150,000 titles range across all disciplines from history and literature to law to medicine and science.
"Eighteenth Century Collections Online captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800. As the eighteenth century opened, the expiration of the strict controls that previously existed over printing, coupled with the birth of the Industrial Revolution, resulted in the proliferation of printing operations across the country—and in turn, created an explosion of literacy. For the first time, a large segment of the population was exposed to a vast array of printed material. Social and economic criticism flourished; theories on man and society were set forth and debated.
"A variety of materials is included—from books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera—with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. A centerpiece of this collection is the complete works of twenty-eight major eighteenth-century authors including:
"Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered (including all 500 editions of Daniel Defoe's Robinson Crusoe) to enable scholars to make textual comparisons of the works."
[Source: About Eighteenth Century Collections Online, accessed June 28, 2006.]
The University of Missouri-Kansas City Libraries |
|
| 5100 Rockhill Road Kansas City, Missouri 64110 |
Miller Nichols: (816) 235-1534 Dental: (816) 235-2030 Health Sciences: (816) 235-1880 Leon E. Bloch Law: (816) 235-1650 |
| http://library.umkc.edu/ Contact webmaster (http://library.umkc.edu/forms/feedback.htm)
|
© 1996-2008 UMKC University Libraries. All Rights Reserved. |
UMKC is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution; Part of the University of Missouri System; Reporting Possible Copyright Infringement